+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unemployed after an MBA from Top 30 US University

Hi,

I am from India and I want to give some background to my case.

I completed a Bachelors and then a Masters degree in India in Business and worked for 3 and half years at a leading private sector bank. Neither my job nor the team I was working with was satisfying (to say the least!) and my boss who was extremely jealous of my progress deliberately withheld my name for a second promotion which was due. I was a star performer and within 6 months of joining I was promoted to Assistant Manager from Senior Officer. This incident amongst others led me to a lot of introspection and I decided to finally fulfill my long time dream of studying for a professional masters degree in US from a top University.

So I left my job in Sept. 2005. It was a hard decision - applying for graduate courses in US is extremely expensive and I was on a tight budget. My job at the bank required extremely long working hours - I was working for 6-7 days a week for 16-18 hours a day (no I am not kidding when you work in a country like India in a retail bank things can be pretty out of control!!!). I used this time from Sept 2005 until May 2006 (when I came to US) and worked hard on finding universities, preparing for GMAT, taking exam, interviews etc and then finally making the trip to the US!

I joined a top school here and worked very hard. I worked as an intern in my university for a year without pay while studying a full time demanding MBA course and kept looking for a job. My problem - the US and world economy tanked just as I graduated in May 2008. Plus I was on a student visa looking for a company that would sponsor my work permit.

It is now April, 2009 and almost a complete 1 year since graduation. I am returning to my home country jobless.