+ Reply to Thread

New Colleague Trying to Tell me What to Do

So a new guy has started working in my office recently. At first he seemed cool and really enthusiastic. However recently he's been trying to tell me what to do. He is just fresh out of uni, while I have been working in this type of job for 6 years I know he is trying to be helpful but now he is just annoying. It started with him suggesting I do these very basic things, but he seems to forget I've been doing this job for so long, whatever he suggests to me I've already done of thought about. So I didn't thing much of this.

However this week he sent me an email trying out point out faults with my work. They weren't faults, it's just because he's new he doesn't totally understand how the company operates. When I explained that to him in a very diplomatic way, he replied with 'when you produce new stuff, can you send it to me so I can check it'.

Check it?? He's barely in the job and wants to check my work? It isn't his job to do that! What's more is that he isn't even in my team. I spoke to someone who works alongside him in his team and she said she is having difficulties with him too. She said he has undermined her too, when she told him one of his ideas wouldn't work. He went above her head.

He really needs to chill out, take a step back and not be so eager to impress. But my dilemma is do I do nothing, tell him directly he's too eager or say something to my line manager or his line manager.

Any advice welcome

Senior Member Expert
    If talking to him about it in a tactful manner doesn't work, talk to his immediate supervisor and keep going up the chain of command if you must. This worker probably won't last long without being a team player.
    Todd can teach you a lot about how to get a job and get more out of your career.

Junior Member Junior Member
    A few points ...