+ Reply to Thread
    Junior Member Newbie

Red flags at new position

So I have been working as a temp for about two months now and I've really liked my boss up until a few weeks ago. She's always acted like she is really on top of her game and knows how to handle employees (part of her job is coincidentally, retention) but as the months have gone by I've seen some red flags with her job as a manager and I'm wondering if I should look for new work after my temp trial is over.

My boss just took 5 days off, and failed to consider signing off my hours for my paycheck. She informed me of her time off very last minute, and when I asked her about approving my time sheet before she left, she asked me if we could put it off until she returned. I told her I'd rather have it on time and her response was 'me too, but there's nothing I can do'. My paycheck is now still late and a week overdue because of this. I have brake lights out that need repair, and I've had to put it off because I don't have the finances.

When she returned, we had a meeting and she brought up the absence I had the month prior, saying I needed to be careful. And I was missing about a day per month at this rate. I thought the conversation was weird. About a month ago, I had to miss work because I was really ill, like grossly fever, puking ill. I felt like this was no big deal, there was no work I fell behind on, in fact there was no work at all, and Im hourly-- so it was a loss on my end. When I returned it was never mentioned.

I tried to see her point of the criticism, but also a bit hypocritical as she has missed work and left early multiple times since I've been there. Ultimately I can't control having a bad flu, and I'm a human being. A temp... but still a human being.