+ Reply to Thread

Looking for a teaching job; please help

Hi,

I have a bachelor's in Secondary Education / English, but I have not been able to find a teaching position. Granted, I have only looked in this one city, but I really do not know how to go about relocating; most of my connections are here, and, although it's not much, I do have a part time job as a substitute teacher, not to mention a place to rent; if I relocate, I might not have any of these things. What would you suggest? Why do you think I haven't found a job in my state? My resume looks great, and I've gotten plenty of interviews; I just don't have a full-time job. What would you suggest?

Hi kmb,

Your current lack of a teaching position could be due to any number of things. For example, your city could be small and thus not have many opportunities.

Or, if you've gotten plenty of interviews but no offers, maybe you need to improve your interviewing skills. Think back on the interviews you've done, and see if there was any room for improvement on your part.

It sounds like you might be willing to relocate if you thought that was worth it. The availability of jobs and places to rent would vary based on location, of course. If you are willing to relocate, have a good job offer in hand, and can afford to move, then relocation may be worth it - it's as simple as that.

Relocating for a teaching position is quite common, so don't be afraid of it. If the job (and pay!) is good, the rest will follow. Good luck!

Have you tried online teaching (tutoring)?

Hi there kmb,

You have two options:

1) Look out-of-state.
    2) Sit tight.